Service Areas

Want to sign up for service? Learn more about Roanoke Connect in your county. We are rapidly expanding Smart Grid and broadband services in our service territory in northeastern North Carolina to better serve our member-owners.

Check Availability


Bertie County comprises about 741 square miles with a population of about 20,200. Timber is a key industry, as are livestock and the expanding poultry industry. Bertie County includes the eight incorporated townships of Askewville, Aulander, Colerain, Kelford, Lewiston-Woodville, Powellsville, Roxobel and Windsor. The county seat is Windsor.

Visit our Bertie County page for more info.


Gates County is part of the Inner Banks of North Carolina and home of Merchants Millpond State Park. Significant industries include agriculture and timber. The county has a total area of 346 square miles with a population of about 11,500 and includes the unincorporated areas of Eason Crossroads, Eure, Hoflers Fork, Holly Grove, Gates, Mintonsville, Selwin and Tarheel. The county seat is Gatesville.

Visit our Gates County page for more info.


Halifax County is located in the Roanoke River and Tar-Pamlico River basins. It is one of the largest geographical counties in North Carolina, encompassing an area of approximately 722 square miles with a population of about 55,000 residents. Principal industries include textiles, tourism, industrial, and agricultural businesses. The county seat is Halifax. Other towns include Enfield, Hobgood, Littleton, Scotland Neck and Weldon. Unincorporated areas include Aurelian Springs, Brinkleyville and Heathsville.

Visit our Halifax County page for more info.


Hertford County has a population of about 24,700 and encompasses about 360 square miles. The county seat is Winton and Hertford is considered as a part of the Inner Banks region of North Carolina. Incorporated towns in Hertford include Ahoskie, Como, Harrellsville and Murfreesboro. Hertford has a diversified economy including agricultural, industrial and other businesses throughout the county.

Visit our Hertford County page for more info.


Northampton County’s population is about 22,099 and its county seat is located in Jackson. Towns in Northampton County include Conway, Garysburg, Gaston, Lasker, Rich Square, Seaboard, Severn and Woodland. Unincorporated areas include Margarettsville, Milwaukee, Pleasant Hill and Turners Crossroads. The county is 551 square miles in size.

Visit our Northampton County page for more info.