Three board members re-elected at Roanoke Cooperative’s 84th Annual Meeting

Three board members were re-elected at Roanoke Cooperative’s 84th Annual Meeting, held online on August 26. The elected incumbents are: 

District 1, Columbus Jeffers

District 5, Kenneth Jernigan

District 9, Cynthia Vaughan

CEO Marshall Cherry provided a business update, reflecting on the co-op changing its name this year from Roanoke Electric Cooperative to Roanoke Cooperative. “This new name reflects our expanded offerings,” said Cherry, “and signifies our commitment to meet the evolving needs of our member-owners. Alongside the new name, our fresh logo and motto, ‘Today, Tomorrow, Together,’ encapsulate our legacy as we embark on a future defined by innovation in serving our cherished member-owners.”

Joe Brannon, CEO of North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation, reminded member-owners of the concept of the “cooperative difference”: “Over the years, we’ve grown and adapted to meet the changing needs of our members and communities. All 26 North Carolina electric cooperatives are driven by the belief that we can achieve more together than we ever could as individuals. We have weathered storms, overcome challenges, and embraced innovation to ensure that every home, every business, and every family in North Carolina, regardless of where they reside, has access to reliable and affordable electricity. That collaboration highlights the cooperative difference you are a part of as a member-owner.”

The meeting ended with drawings for several prizes, including two $500 cash prizes. Member-owner winners include:

James L. Tillery Ring DoorBell
Sarah Robinson Ring DoorBell
Brian Hall Ring DoorBell
Brianna Berryman Therapeutic Massage Gun
Latonya Boone Echo Show
Katrina Berryman Echo Show
Katrina McMillian Google Hub
Cathy Tann Echo Show 8
Rita Sumner Perry Tailgate Speaker
Michael Adams Keurig
Charles Ledden Nutribullet Blender
Gwendolyn Sumner 43-inch Toshiba TV
Tracey Lee 43-inch TV
Wanda T. Cofield 43-inch TV
Julius Debrow $500.00 Cash
Janice Sharp $500.00 Cash
Cynthia Crandol LawnCare Package